M&M Interview: Jay Cass of OVSTV/Ovs Media

photo

I caught up with Jay Cass who is the Creative Director of OVSTV. OVs Media produce and direct music videos, short films, comedy sketch shows and various events and are based in London. They hope to give up and coming and established artists the platform to advertise their brand affordably while maintaining a high quality product. Since 2009 OVSTV has had 277, 718 video views and counting.

Tell me about yourself, how did you get started? 

I started back in college studying A level media but switched my course after a couple (of) weeks due to my tutor telling me we wouldn’t be making any videos until the second year of the course. So I decided (that) the more hands on route would be more suited for me. During my time at college I started going to a film club created by Fast Forward Youth, where me and a couple (of) friends used to learn how to create short films as well as mentoring some secondary school students. Through Fast Forward I was able to create some videos as well as enter them into a Youth Film Festival. After finishing college I went on to study Broadcasting & Operations at Ravensbourne and decided after completing my first year (that) maybe the Uni route wasn’t for me, as once again I wanted a more hands on approach. I knew it was a risk leaving Uni without much of a plan apart from (that) I wanted to make music videos. (I) spent a year trying to get some money together or an investor to get things started and as luck would have it I managed to find someone who wanted to invest in what I (was) starting, unluckily for me the person pulled out literally couple (of) days before the deal was signed and I decided to use the money I managed to save up during the year to buy a camera and started shooting music videos and like they say the rest is history.
How long have you known that you wanted to work in the music industry? 

When I was younger I used to make music (but) after dropping the mic due to realising I didn’t want to be famous; I decided to take up video production so (that) I could be (a) part of the music industry and to be honest if I wasn’t making videos I (would) probably be managing an artist. Who knows when I’m done with video production I might get into artist management.

Who were your early musical influences?

My early musical influences would be artists like Biggie, Jay-Z, Fabolous, Kano, Dizzee Rascal & So Solid Crew.

What sort of music do you create videos for?


Currently shooting a lot of videos for R&B, Grime & Hip Hop acts but (I) would love to create music videos for some rocks acts one day.

Are there any artists you would like to work with in the future?

My dream job would probably be to work on something with Jay Z but realistically I would like to make a video with Wretch 32, Chipmunk or Marvell, they all have a way with words and I would one day like to bring these words into a visual.

Have you got any advice for people wanting to get into the music video industry? 

My advice would be (to) figure out why you want to make music videos and keep that in mind as you go through the industry. There will be a lot (of) times, especially when starting off, that your phone won’t be ringing for jobs. Those are the times that you keep believing in why you chose to make music videos and the moment you get your chance to create a music video make it count, even if it’s not a paid shoot, approach it with the same attitude as you would if you were getting paid millions to make the video.

What’s next for OVSTV?
(We’ve) got some short films that we should start shooting in the summer and hopefully (we’ll be) releasing them over the autumn period all depending on how many we shoot, as well as more music videos.

Who are your celebrity inspirations?


My inspirations I would say would be Jay-Z, Tyler Perry & John Singleton because they all faced early struggles in their respective fields but stuck to what they believed (in) and reached a high level of success.

What goes through your mind when you’re creating music videos?


When making a music video the first thing I try to do is figure out what message or emotion the artist is trying to get across with the song and the next step is to try get that across as clearly as possible with the visual.

Tell me something no one else knows about OVSTV?

OVs was actually originally meant to be a clothing line. I was supposed to create (designs) whilst I was creating music but never got around to actually getting any clothing design finalized.

What would you say was your biggest achievement for OVSTV to date? 

I would say my biggest achievement so far is being part of the Wretch 32 Black & White Tour within the first year of me making videos as a career. It was the first tour that I got a chance to be a part of, it was a lot of fun hanging around artists like Wretch 32, Loick Essien, Scorcher & Teezy and watching the show with possibly the best view from the pit with the live band was amazing and being a massive Wretch 32 fan made it even better.

Check out OVSTV’s new videos at http://www.YouTube.com/Overshooo or visit their Facebook and Twitter pages @OvershoJay @Ovstv Facebook.Com/Ovstv.

One day this rising star will get to the same level as music video directors Hype Williams, Colin Tilley, Benny Boom, Director X and Francis Lawrence. To find out more about them see my article below:

https://megansaad.wordpress.com/2013/05/20/the-men-behind-the-videos/

Producing and directing are what Jay enjoys doing, but what are your passions? Take a look at my roundtable discussion on careers:

https://megansaad.wordpress.com/2013/08/29/being-you-is-your-best-tool-to-achieve-your-dream-career/

Leave a Reply

