M&M Interview: LHHNY’s Tara Wallace

Taranasha Wallace grew up in a small town in Mississippi and moved to New York to establish her acting career, where she got heavily involved in musicals and off-Broadway theater productions. She is an educated woman with a degree and MFA under her belt and also manages one of the hot-spots in New York’s trendy Meatpacking District. She continues to pursue an acting career and is raising her two sons, six year old Jamison and 22 month old Kaz. She was with their father, rapper Peter Gunz, for over 13 years, but as this season of Love and Hip Hop New York shows, being the baby mother of a rapper is never easy. In this exclusive interview Tara talks about the current state of her relationship with Peter and how the children are dealing with things.

Miss M&M: How did it feel seeing the footage of Amina and Peter in LHHNY Season 4?

Tara Wallace: I wanted to scream at the top of my lungs and pull my hair out in disgust, but it is what it is at this moment, it’s happened there’s nothing I can do about it. So I have my dignity, I’m walking away from this. Oh well.

Would you let your children watch the show later on or do you think it would negatively affect their perception of their dad?

I would never let my children watch it. My children are so young, my oldest son is six; my baby is 22 months. This show in general is just too much for them to comprehend, along with even having conversations hinting that perhaps we’re moving into our own apartment, your dad’s moving into his own apartment. It’s very difficult for a six year old to understand and comprehend. So then you find yourself making compromises when he’s around a little bit more because it’s about them and not me at some points, and their feelings and making sure that they’re emotionally stable and keeping myself together so that they are, and not letting this situation affect the energy and flow of our household.

What do you feel that LHHNY can bring to your acting career?

I think that show’s like this, they are a platform. There’s no hiding that and you have to find some way to make that work for your advantage. It doesn’t make it easy, but it still is a platform. I now run into the problem of people seeing me originally within the dysfunctionality of this relationship and how do I overcome that? I guess that is something that will slowly happen as people begin to see who I really am.

Now that it has come out about Amina and possibly other women, are you and Peter still together?

Peter and I, we are not together. I mean break ups are in stages. Are his things and everything still in our house? Yes they are. I think that that official break up and move on will happen when we both move out of the apartment that we have shared for the past six years. There are nights when he comes knocking on the door because he doesn’t have keys anymore, so he’s still there definitely.

Women always have their intuition, did you always know he was cheating on you or did it come as a shock?

I didn’t always know. I think that there became a point where I felt something wasn’t right, like my intuition. I’ve learned just from being in this relationship for 13 years that when I feel something, you don’t let that go away. I said to him once, I made dinner and he was washing dishes. It was just something about his energy and I looked over at him. For some reason we weren’t connecting, we weren’t arguing but we weren’t connecting. I just simply yelled at him in the kitchen or said something and got his attention. ‘I just hope that whoever she is she’s worth keeping and losing your family over’ and he was like ‘what are you talking about?’ I don’t know where that came from. I didn’t have an inkling of a thought. I hadn’t seen an Instagram of anything; it was just maybe that I felt something.    

You guys have been together for over 13 years. Do you think you’ll ever be completely over him?

I don’t know. This is a man I have been in love with for a very long time. I loved him; I never wanted children until Peter. I don’t know. It’s something that I’m working toward. It’s something that I know I have to do for myself. I know that no matter what, I have to say this again, that even in the worst situations I deserve better than that.

See how Tara feels about racism here.

Despite Tara being over the whole situation with Peter Gunz, she’s still going to have to learn how to deal with him for the sake of their children. Here’s some tips on how to handle conflict in your relationships, good luck!

Leave a Reply

