Throwback Interview: Waka Flocka

Waka Flocka_12-13-2012

As Posted On VIBE.com

Q&A: Waka Flocka Talks Halloween, New Music, Being Engaged And Touring In Africa

Juaquin Malphurs better known as Waka Flocka Flame is one of the very few rappers that has successfully conquered both the rap and EDM world. He’s just dropped his latest mixtape From Roaches To Rollies and is fresh from a New York performance with Steve Aoki, Pharrell Williams and Borgore at Pier 94. He is recently engaged to boo Tammy Rivera, who is the latest addition to the cast of Love and Hip Hop Atlanta, and was one of the rappers Gucci Mane talked about in his Twitter rant a few months back. VIBE sat down with him to talk about Halloween, his new music, how being engaged is treating him and his upcoming African tour.

VIBE: How did you spend Halloween? Did you dress up in costume?

Waka Flocka: Unfortunately I couldn’t get dressed, I had media all damn day. By the time it turned six, seven o’clock I had to get ready for a show for eight thirty. After party after that, so it’s just like work, partying, shows, turned up. The life.

A lot of chicks were showing skin this Halloween: Nicki as a bondage cop, Miley as 1999 VMA Lil Kim and Ellen as Nicki. Who killed it? 

I liked Frank Ocean with the leg drop, that or the Bride of Chuckie one.

What is your favorite scary movie?

My favorite is Michael Myers, all of them, they serious. That’s a scary dude man, when I was a kid that was a scary dude. That music, his whole delivery, his posture, he’s a scary dude. [Horror movies] are just entertainment now.

You rap about the struggle and named your new mix tape From Roaches To Rollies. The young Twitter generation these days seem to be constantly onto the next one when it comes to music releases, what do you want them to take away from your mixtape?

My new mixtape is to let people know that the rich got their own struggle, everybody struggles. It’s just levels to it. It’s like a transition you know? I came from nothing really to something; I came from the gutter to making the gutters. I just gave it that underground look. I go back to what I know. That straight underground raw uncut street shit. I ain’t looking for no single, I ain’t trying to have twerking, popping bottles and shit. I wasn’t looking for that. Underground hood shit.

You’re one of the trap rap greats, are there any other trap artists you would co-sign?

Young Scooter, Young Thug. I follow their movement, point blank period.

What is your favorite club banger at the moment?

Some shit called ‘OG Bobby Johnson’, it’s hard. Artist named Que Gotti that shit fire. “Word on the street I’m a suspect, hanging with the killers in the projects”, that’s some crunk shit, hard as fuck.

You’ve toured all over the world with your EDM and Rap tracks, what has been your favorite country to tour in so far?

My favorite country is Spain, Barcelona and Austria, that was live. I couldn’t see [any of the local artists] when I got there I had to do a show and go to the hotel and party but that shit was turned up and Barcelona. Man that shit just different, the smell of it, the food, the people, the delivery. Turned up, that’s some Spring Break shit. If you want to go on Spring Break, go there. Popping, Barcelona is popping!

What is your favorite thing about being engaged? Have you guys set a date yet?

My favorite thing about being engaged is your partner knowing what you want. For us, we love going out to eat, that’s like our favorite shit. Tasting food, drinking different wine, that shit is super fine for right now. STK in Atlanta that is one of our favorite [restaurants], man I don’t know, shit we always go to new ones, probably find another one out here tonight. No man [we haven’t set a date], not yet.

What made you and your boo Tammy decide to get involved with LHHATL?

I got into it because my fiancé got into it. I definitely ain’t want no parts of it. She’s got a lot of things as a woman and as a person that she’s coming out with. So she’s just branding, starting it from right there.

I caught your Breakfast Club interview, are there any updates on Gucci’s situation?

Ain’t no updates, no worries. It don’t exist. You can see my face. Ain’t no need for no more talking, I don’t even want to talk.

Has your mom Debra Atney made contact with Gucci since his twitter rant?

I don’t even know, I don’t even ask about it. If she do that’s between her. I ain’t talking to him, I’m good.

Rappers normally delete their twitter accounts once shit hits the fan, what would be your advice to rappers thinking to do that?

Damn them n***** lame. Nah that ain’t me. You what it is about Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, any social media? Don’t let that shit be personal about how your life is, it’s social media. That ain’t supposed to be inside your emotions, your feelings, that’s a personal thing. Don’t let your personal get to your social, that’s my advice.

What’s next for Waka Flocka? Any updates on when Flockaveli 2 is dropping?

Never been [to Africa before], I’ll be there in December, West Africa. Can’t wait to go, [I’m touring there.] I just know it’s West Africa, and South Africa picked up some dates. You know imma go hard. Music wise I just dropped the mixtape Roaches to Rollies, I’m finna come out with Flockaveli part 2 top of the year. I’ve got a label Brick Squad Monopoly, I’m going to drop a compilation CD with them. From there the rest is history, man imma go hard. Go motherfucking crazy! [Flockaveli 2 is coming] top of the year guaranteed, I don’t want to say no more but top of the year.

With Thanksgiving coming up, what are you thankful for this year?

I’m grateful for everything that God gave me man in the last couple of years of my life, he blessed me. I can’t complain, I can’t ask for no more.

VIBE is doing a race issue soon. Can you tell us a personal story you have about someone being racist to you?

I won’t say what color they are. I remember I was going in the store right, high class stuff. [What happened to me was] similar to the thing that happened to that kid in Rochester, similar to that. Basically I was like ‘let me get this’ and they were like ‘well you know you can get that on sale?’ They wasn’t helping me if somebody else came in, they weren’t helping me no more. But as soon as somebody came from the back like ‘yo Waka Flocka whats up man, let me get a picture’, I took a picture they were just running. Damn I wasn’t even no color no more I was just a n**** with money. It exists but it don’t exist in everybody, just a small portion. That was real recent.

Did your parents ever talk to you about racism as a child?

No, that don’t exist in our world.

Is racism very different in Atlanta to how it is in New York?

It is way different. Atlanta, everybody fuck with everybody. Big difference.

What is the funniest misconception about being black?

They all look alike. How the fuck do we all look alike? Everybody got black in them, everybody in this world got it in them. Ain’t nobody from my family from Africa, like my ancestors. But I look black so I am black.

Waka has since become a fixture on Love & Hip Hop Atlanta, see how his fellow Love & Hip Hop cast members feel about racism:

https://megansaad.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/throwback-interview-lhhny-cast-on-race/

Rap fans should also check out my interview with DJ Tony Touch:

https://megansaad.wordpress.com/2014/09/03/throwback-interview-dj-tony-touch/

Leave a Reply

