Throwback Interview: Erica Mena

em

As Posted On VIBE.com

Q&A: Erica Mena Dismisses Rumors That She’s Bi For Male Attention And Talks Coming Out To Her Family

Erica Mena is a fiery Latina model who got her big break at the age of fourteen through winning a Jennifer Lopez look-alike competition. Erica has worked as a video vixen for artists like Chris Brown, Akon, Fabolous and Fat Joe to name a few. She has also been featured in many magazines including XXL, KING, The Source and Maxim and has done print campaigns for big chains like Roca Wear, Tommy Hillfiger and Loreal. The last season of Love and Hip Hop saw Miss Mena attempt to start a music career with on and off love interest Rich Dollaz, who acted as her manager in the industry. This season of LHHNY shows Erica explore her bisexuality with new girlfriend Cyn Santana and her writing a sex book named “Chronicles of a Confirmed Bachelorette: The Girl Factor”, where she talks about her experiences with men and women. VIBE spoke to her the LHHNY Season 4 screening to talk about her sexuality and how it will affect her son King.

VIBE: How would you react to people saying that you are only dating girls for male attention?

Erica Mena: I think it’s funny. It’s funny because that’s the moment that you take the time to put into perspective how crucial, incredible and foolish society is. I don’t think it’s accepted naturally to be bisexual, especially a woman. So I expect that, but I also have the time to laugh at it because it is what it is. It makes me laugh because whether they believe it or not this is what you have to accept, this is what is going to be on your TV every Monday night. I think what people have to just naturally give me the respect for, is the fact that me being a woman and no matter what I’ve done fault to mistakes or right to wrong, that I’m able to step out and be like this is who I am and this is who I love to be with. This is what it is, this is my life. I’m on a reality show so you get what you get.

How do your parents feel about you dating girls, are they pretty open minded?

Yeah I think we’ve actually recently, made our mothers meet and it was a liberating moment because I really don’t care what the world thinks, I’m going to be honest with you. I hope people don’t take that the wrong way, but I don’t care what the world thinks, but my family… They’re just like if this is what you makes you happy, if this is what you need, if this is what you want, if this is what keeps you content, if this is what has you finally at peace, they’re all for it.

You have a six year old son called King. How are you going to explain your sexuality to him?

Cyn’s actually met my son and I’m the youngest of eight girls, so naturally he has to deal with a lot of women in his life. I haven’t really sat down with him to kind of say this is mommy’s girlfriend because we haven’t taken that step on full on commitment. But I think when it comes time to; I think King will understand, especially because of how hard I really do go for him. I give him the world and I shelter him so much that there is going to be a time where I’ll have to sit down with him and relate it to him. But at the end of the day, life and the way things are nowadays, you have to mentally prepare your kids. Whether I’m with a woman or not, walking down the street with my son he’s going to see a man and a man holding hands, so eventually I have to give him that conversation. It’s kind of like the birds and the bees, it’s part of life. It’s just a time and a place and until I’m for sure certain that me and her are taking the next step, I will have that conversation. But until then, I think he knows that there’s definitely love and mommy’s changed. So I think he feels that I don’t have to front no more, you know what I mean?

Wanna know what really went down with Cyn Santana and Rich Dollaz?

https://megansaad.wordpress.com/2013/12/31/qa-rich-dollaz-erica-menas-main-squeeze-cyn-santana-talk-about-the-possibility-of-a-three-way-relationship-and-ericas-sex-book/

Find out what Erica’s experience of racism has been below:

https://megansaad.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/throwback-interview-lhhny-cast-on-race/

Leave a Reply

