Throwback Interview: Joris Voorn

As seen in DJ Mag

Lucky 7: Joris Voorn

The Green/Rejected label boss plays us his Lucky 7.

The Dutch DJ started his journey to the EDM holy grail in 1997, experimenting with synth sounds and drum loops on his MC-303 Groove Box. Three years later he began mixing magic in his small studio in Rotterdam, which led to his first release ‘Muted Trax Pt.1’. Following this release, he produced a series of EPs, singles and mixes resulting in his debut album ‘Future History’ in 2003. Little did he know that this album would establish him as one of the hottest techno producers of our generation!

In 2006, together with the help of his friend Edwin Oosterwal, his second record label Rejected was born. This label focused on the contemporary wave of EDM artists, which proved to be a winning formula for international success. His remixes scored him cool-points from the likes of Sven Vath, Dubfire, Pete Tong and John Digweed. By 2007, his label Green dropped the sophomore album ‘From A Deep Place’, which became a crossover hit attracting fans across the EDM spectrum from minimal to trance.

Ever the creative genius, Joris has appeared on mixes for everyone from Steve Angello to Nic Fanciulli. His musical resume also includes a Resident Advisor Podcast and a series of club shows that aimed to mesh the worlds of visual art and music. Joris Voorn is currently on a worldwide tour, US fans can catch him in NY and LA towards the end of May. He also has a remix album in the works for ‘Nobody Knows’, so watch this space.

What track really sums up your childhood?

“Pink Floyd’s ‘Another Brick In The Wall’. I got to know the ‘The Wall’ album through the parents of a friend of mine; I was fascinated by the atmosphere and story that seemed to be present throughout the music. ‘Another Brick In The Wall’ was the album highlight for me and when I listen to it now I think it’s even better than I could have ever realised as a kid.”

What was the first record you ever bought?

“I’m really not sure, but it could have been a Queen or Dire Straights album, on second hand vinyl of course. I loved both of these bands to pieces and to be honest it’s the Dire Straights I’d still listen to today. Queen not so much, even though they will always be a unique and highly influential band in the history of pop music.”

What is the most embarrassing record in your collection?

“Well not sure if it’s that bad, but I do have a 1995 German trance compilation called ‘Behind The Eye’ [via] Sven Vath’s Eye Q Records; which I (ahem) still play in the car [every] now and then. It’s borderline Goa-trance and has the classic ‘Orange Theme’ track by Cygnus X, which I found [to be] a fascinating piece of music back in the day. It wasn’t cheesy, just good solid underground techno trance.”

Which track is guaranteed to make you cry?

“I really love Aimee Mann’s ‘Save Me’, most of all because it reminds me of ‘Magnolia’, one of my all-time favourite movies. If I had to choose a techno track then it would be the full 13.5mins of Choice’s ‘Acid Eiffel’. It just doesn’t get any better than that!”

What album are you currently into?

“The latest Flying Lotus album is amazing. It reminds me so much of DJ Shadow’s first album, although it doesn’t have the same depth to it.”

What is the most valuable record in your collection?

“It used to be the Dave Angel ‘Handle With Care’ EP, with the stunning ‘Airborne (Carl Craig’s Drums Suck Remix)’, until I dropped it on the floor one day and it broke in half.”

What is your favourite track of all-time?

“There’s no answer to a question like this, but I’m a real sucker for Weezer’s Undone ‘The Sweater Song’. I can drive my car and sing this out loud like there’s no tomorrow!”

Like this interview? Check out some of my other EDM interviews, including Morgan Page and Zoot Woman.

Leave a Reply

