Throwback Interview: Bill Patrick

As seen in DJ Mag

Take 10: Bill Patrick

We asked Bill Patrick, affectionately dubbed the ‘working class DJ’, for his top ten tracks.

The self-confessed Nu-Romantic began his musical journey in New York City, debuting his DJ skills at venues like The Limelight and Vinyl & Arc. This earned him the opportunity to join forces with the folks at Robot Radio to create the infamous Robots parties and entertain his fellow New Yorkers by hosting a weekly radio show.

In 2008, the hopeless romantic moved across the pond to Berlin, Germany, to “challenge the European state of mind and how sexually active they, as a people, can become.” This move has since proved to be quite the stroke of genius on Patrick’s behalf, as he went on to play at mega festivals like Romania’s Sunwaves, Art Basel, BPM and in super clubs like DC10, Fabric and Paris’ Rex.

These days, when he’s not over-sharing on social media with the intent to educate the masses on his unique view of contemporary dance music, he is sourcing new artists as the head of A&R at Guy Gerber’s Supplement Facts label; or hosting his wildly popular ‘Private Stock’ show on Pulse Radio. Fans can catch him dominating the decks at London’s Fabric nightclub on February 28th. Here are his 10…

  1. Burial – “Archangel

“I didn’t expect to lose my shit so quickly. Hairs stood up, chills, disbelief and envy all proceeded to overtake my universe. This was basically everything I loved about music, life, love and sadness all wrapped up into one song and, subsequently, one album.”

  1. Radiohead – “How To Disappear Completely

“I mean, how can you pick one Radiohead song? ‘Kid A’ was the album that shifted the poles, took this band into another dimension and changed everyone’s idea of what a rock band should sound like.”

  1. Grizzly Bear – “Ready, Able

“It pretty much put me on a different musical trajectory. I started my radio show quite soon after, in an attempt to introduce this type of music to more people in the dance scene. The video took this song to a whole other level. Super creative, visually and artistically stunning.”

  1. Ricardo Villalobos – “Quizas”

“2003 was [the] year that I was cutting my teeth in NY as a DJ and really started to make a name for myself; this album helped [me to] do that. I was a resident at Vinyl/Arc in Tribeca and playing stuff like this on the main floor was something that helped me carve my own sound.”

  1. Ol’ Dirty Bastard – “Goin’ Down

“When I was in high school, my friend Lance Doucet and I took the ferry to Staten Island to check out the new Wu-Tang store that had just opened up. I knew all the words and for that one day in February I felt like an honorary member of the Wu-Tang Clan. Ol’ Dirty Billy?”

  1. Quicksand – “Landmine Spring

“Quicksand was a very influential band for me. They blurred the lines of hardcore, punk and emo, incorporating a more melodic side that eventually took me into my full-blown emo stage. Walter Schreifels (lead singer) was someone I really admired.”

  1. Nirvana – “Lithium

“I used to put this song on in my bedroom, get totally amped up and jump around in anticipation for the weekend and kissing girls. Kurt Cobain was a hero of mine. This album defined a generation.”

  1. Erasure – “River Deep, Mountain High (Private Dance Mix)”

“The band that thrust me into electronic music was Erasure. This was a cover of an old Ike and Tina Turner song and the top line was “sampled” (ripped off) by Prince in “If I Was Your Girlfriend”. Controversy!!”

  1. Sunny Day Real Estate – “Shadows

“I was coming out of my teenage angst phase and started to explore [my] feelings. I was great at getting my heart broken, like the Drake of my generation. This song was the soundtrack to many of those shattered hearts.”

  1. Pink Floyd – “One Of These Days

“My shrooms started to kick in while I was in the back seat listening to this song. At 2 minutes and 50 seconds shit gets official and then the voice comes in with “one of these days I’m going to cut you into little pieces.” I fucking passed out. My friends had to pull over and I proceeded to throw up on the side of the road.”

Like this interview? Check out my chats with Hermitude and Joey Negro.

Leave a Reply

